top of page

NaPoWriMo - April 14th and 15th

April 14th

Prompt: entries for an imaginary dream dictionary

Oh dear, the mice have turned

into teacups with tails

The Mad Hatter smiles as he

sips his pink tea, “You don’t even

fit in with the mad ones” The Red Queen drops her hammer The seagulls fly away afraid

“Off with her head!”

Resistance has always been futile. Swimming with sharks

My fins turn into ballet slippers

The sea witch’s spell misfired

I never asked for a Prince Eric.

The dining table wobbles

My mother’s pleading eyes say

“Find some stability!”

The dentist’s exam lights are

blinding.

I hop into my rowboat alone

and sail toward the horizon.

April 15th

Prompt: a villain is revealed to be human

Mirror, Mirror

Once upon a time

an Evil Queen told her

therapist, “Doctor, I can’t stop

asking the mirror to tell

me that I’m beautiful”

“Yes yes, mirror checking and

reassurance seeking is common

in those with body dysmorphia.

But there’s nothing

a few pills can’t fix”

“But doctor, I’m afraid that

something terrible might happen

if I don’t find a cure”

“Yes, well, here’s some medicine

This should take care of it.

Off you go now. I haven’t got all day”

bottom of page